Third All-Weather Championships Start Next Month

The third season of the highly successful All-Weather Championships commences at Lingfield Park on Thursday, October 29 and will be better than ever.

Finals Day takes place as usual on Good Friday at the same Surrey venue, with the seven races worth a total of £1.1 million. Good Friday is on March 25, 2016.

The main changes this season are to encourage the participation of more Irish and French runners in the 2015/2016 All-Weather Championships.

For the first time, horses can qualify for one of the races on Finals Day by racing three times on an All-Weather surface in France and Ireland, as well as Britain. Of course, they need to be high enough rated to run in one of the seven Finals, each worth at least £150,000, or they can make sure of participation by winning a Fast-Track Qualifier, which grants free and guaranteed entry.

The other way to qualify for one of the Finals is to run three times during the Championship period, including twice on a designated All-Weather surface in Great Britain, Ireland or France and at least once on dirt at Meydan, Dubai.

The categories and the sponsors remain the same this season, 3-Y-O Sprint (Unibet), 3-Y-O Mile (32Red), Sprint (Unibet), Mile (Ladbrokes), Fillies’ & Mares’ (32Red), Marathon (32Red) and Middle Distance (Coral). There are four Fast-Track Qualifiers for each race category.

The number of Fast-Track Qualifiers outside Britain has increased by two, with four staged at Dundalk, Ireland as against two last season, and two again in France, one at Cagnes-Sur-Mer and the other at Deauville. The full list is below.

Martin Cruddace, Chief Executive Officer of Arena Racing Company, said today: “The All-Weather Championships, especially the £1.1 million Finals Day at Lingfield Park on Good Friday, are now an established part of the British Racing Calendar.

“While the All-Weather Championships were initially the idea of Arena Racing Company (ARC), everyone at ARC is enormously grateful to the support we have received from all in British Racing in helping ensure the All-Weather Championships have proved a success from the outset.

“A particular thanks goes to the British Horseracing Authority and the horsemen for their practical support, the European Breeders Fund, which financially supports many races across the All-Weather Championships season, and Chelmsford City, Kempton Park, Dundalk, Cagnes-sur-Mer and Deauville racecourses.

“We would like to show our gratitude to our four sponsors, Coral, Ladbrokes, 32Red and Unibet, who were at the forefront of supporting the All-Weather Championships.

“Our media partner At The Races has provided exciting coverage from day one and we look forward again to Channel 4 broadcasting Finals Day in March live from Lingfield Park.

“As we enter the third season of the All-Weather Championships, we welcome runners from abroad and have done more to encourage them.

“The third All-Weather Championships will be about enjoying another winter of exciting racing, ahead of crowning seven new Champions on Good Friday.”

£10,000 will go to each of the All-Weather Champions, based on the number of winners, at the end of All-Weather Championships season: -
Champion All-Weather Jockey
Champion All-Weather Trainer
Champion All-Weather Owner
Champion All-Weather Sire
Winning Most All-Weather Horse
Champion Tipster

In addition to the awards above, the horse who wins the most prize money during the period will become the ‘All-Weather Horse of the Year’.

Fast-Track Qualifiers – All-Weather Championships 2015/2016
FILLIES 1 29 Oct Lingfield 8f Listed (Fleur De Lys) 32Red
MIDDLE 1 14 Nov Lingfield 10f Listed (Churchill) Coral
SPRINT 1 14 Nov Lingfield 6f Listed (Golden Rose) Unibet
MILE 1 18 Nov Kempton 8f Listed (Hyde) Ladbrokes
3-Y-O 8F 1 21 Nov Lingfield 7f Conditions (2-y-o) 32Red
FILLIES 2 27 Nov Wolverhampton 7f Conditions 32Red
3-Y-O SPRINT 1 5 Dec Wolverhampton 5f Conditions Unibet
MARATHON 1 12 Dec Wolverhampton 16f Conditions 32Red
FILLIES 3 27 Dec Deauville 8f Listed (Miss Santamixa) 32Red
SPRINT 2 2 Jan Chelmsford 5f Conditions Unibet
FILLIES 4 16 Jan Chelmsford 7f Conditions 32Red
3-Y-O SPRINT 2 17 Jan Kempton 6f Conditions Unibet
MARATHON 2 23 Jan Lingfield 16f Conditions 32 Red
MIDDLE 2 6 Feb Lingfield 10f Listed (Winter Derby Trial) Coral
SPRINT 3 6 Feb Lingfield 6f Listed (Cleves) Unibet
3-Y-O SPRINT 3 7 Feb Chelmsford 5f Conditions Unibet
MILE 2 12 Feb Dundalk 8f Conditions Ladbrokes
3-Y-O 8F 2 14 Feb Cagnes Sur Mer 8f Listed (Californie) 32Red
3-Y-O 8F 3 19 Feb Dundalk 7f Conditions 32Red
MARATHON 3 19 Feb Dundalk 16f Conditions 32Red
MILE 3 24 Feb Kempton 8f Conditions Ladbrokes
MIDDLE 3 27 Feb Lingfield 10f Group 3 (Winter Derby) Coral
SPRINT 4 27 Feb Lingfield 5f Listed (Hever) Unibet
MARATHON 4 3 Mar Chelmsford 16f Conditions 32Red
3-Y-O SPRINT 4 4 Mar Wolverhampton 5f Conditions Unibet
MIDDLE 4 4 Mar Dundalk 10.5f Conditions Coral
3-Y-O 8F 4 5 Mar Lingfield 7f Listed (Spring Cup) 32Red
MILE 4 12 Mar Wolverhampton 7f Listed (Lady Wolfruna) Ladbrokes

The seven Finals on Good Friday 2016, March 25
The £150,000 All-Weather Fillies’ & Mares’ Championships Conditions Stakes
The £150,000 Unibet All-Weather Sprint Championships Conditions Stakes
The £150,000 32Red All-Weather 3-Y-O Mile Championships Conditions Stakes
The £150,000 Ladbrokes All-Weather Mile Championships Conditions Stakes
The £200,000 Coral Easter Classic All-Weather Middle Distance Championships Conditions Stakes
The £150,000 Unibet 3-Y-O Sprint All-Weather Championships Conditions Stakes
The £150,000 32Red All-Weather Marathon Championships Conditions Stakes

Did you like this? Share it:
Leave A Comment

© 2018 Racenews · One Bird Design · RSS Feed · Log in